American Association for Primary Care Endoscopy

  • Home
  • Board of Directors

Founder -

William H. Coleman, MD, PhD, is one of the pioneers in primary care endoscopy. He has 25 years of gastrointestinal endoscopy experience, and, for 15 years, he served as the director of the endoscopy laboratory at Highlands Medical Center, Scottsboro Alabama. He taught the first endoscopy course offered by the AAFP 20 years ago. He lectures nationally on gastrointestinal topics and has taught family medicine residents endoscopy for the past 20 years. He is currently the Director of the Office for Family Health Education and Research at the Huntsville Regional Medical Campus of the University of Alabama in Birmingham (UASOMH). He has served as board chair and president of the 94,000 member American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) and president of the academy's foundation (AAFPF).

President - 

Aaron Sinclair, MD, FAAFP(Wichita, KS) attended medical school at the University of Kansas School of Medicine.  He completed his residency at Via Christi Family Medicine in Wichita, KS.  Currently he is an Assistant Professor with the University of Kansas School of Medicine - Wichita, Department of Family and Community Medicine where he has served on the faculty at Wesley Family Medicine Residency Program since 2012.  His areas of focus are endoscopy, didactics, and hospital medicine.  He has served on the AAPCE Board of Director since 2014.  He lives in Wichita, KS with his wife and seven kids.

President-Elect - 

Alexander Fishberg, MD, (Winter Park, FLreceived his medical degree at the University of South Florida and did his residency at the Hinsdale Hospital in Chicago. Currently, he administers a Community Health Grant for Florida Hospital which provides colon cancer screening, endoscopy and digestive health services to the uninsured and underserved populations of Central Florida. He is the Associate Program Director at Florida Hospital Family Medicine Residency and has clinical appointments with Florida State University and the University of Central Florida. At the University of Central Florida, he serves as a reviewer for their online publication, the Flagship. He is a sought after speaker regionally and nationally. He has taught colonoscopy and esophagogastroduodenoscopy to almost a generation of family physicians has served as the Secretary/Treasurer for the American Association of Primary Care Endoscopy. He lives in Orlando with his wife and two children.

Past President - 

Derek Hubbard, MD, (Madison, WI) is a Clinical Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin – Madison, School of Medicine and Public Health Department of Family Medicine.  Madison, WI.  He earned his MD degree from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and did his residency at the Family Practice Residency, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Eau Claire, WI.  Dr. Hubbard has been performing colonoscopy since 2003, and has been a member of the AAPCE since its inception.  His goal is to create University of Wisconsin-Madison’s program in performing and teaching colonoscopy.  Their goal is to create a formal fellowship with strict guidelines for entrance and competency.  Dr. Hubbard has given a number of educational presentations during his career including participation in the annual AAPCE Conferences.

Secretary/Treasurer -

Andy Swartz, MDBoard of Directors - 

Andrea Esplin, MD

Maurice Duggins, MD

Michael Harper, MD

Gregory J. Miller, MD

Stephen Morse, Jr., DO

Nikole Shepherdson, DO

Chris Stuart, MD

Brandon Williamson, MD

Copyright © 2021 American Association for Primary Care Endoscopy.  All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software